Kheeranand.

A more shahi version of my favourite kheer
A delicacy of our Indian cuisine

Kheeranand is Rice Halwa, while Kheer is Rice pudding. Kheeranand has twice the amount of rice, and the rice is fried in Ghee.
My daughter likes to do Langar (feeding as many people as possible ) from time to time. So today I took it upon myself and made Kheeranand for all . Though I made it with 5 litres of milk which was sufficient for the entire staff of the building and my helps , here I’m sharing the proportions which I read online .
This recipe I’ve copy pasted as I’ve adapted it to the T.

Recipe adapted from Indiancurry.com

Ingredients
Sweet Slurry
1. Regular milk: 2 cups( 10 cups
2. Sugar: 1 cup( 5 cups)
3. Cardamom seeds: ½ teaspoon( 2 tsps)
4. Saffron: 8 strands( 1/2 gms)
Cooking Halwa
1. Ghee: ¼ cup( I used 1 cup)
2. Basmati Rice: 1 Cup( I used 4 cups )
3. Green cardamom cracked open: 4( around20)
4. Cloves: 4( around 15)
5. Cinnamon stick 2″ broken in half: 2( 4 sticks)
6. Sliced Almonds: ¼ Cup ( 1 cup)
7. Split Cashews: ¼ Cup( I had 1/2 cup)
8. Pistachio coarse chop: ¼ Cup( didn’t have so I didn’t use)
9. Raisins: ¼ Cup( black currants1/2 cup)
10. Regular Milk: 2 Cups( 10 cups)

Method
Prepare sweet slurry
1. Mix milk, sugar, cardamom seeds. Bring to a boil. Add saffron. Shut off heat. Cover. Set aside for about 10 minutes to let aromas infuse.
Cooking Halwa
1. Heat Ghee in a heavy bottom pan
2. Keep heat low to medium. Add Rice, Cardamom Cloves and Cinnamon. Stir-fry. The rice will become white opaque and then fluffy.
3. Add almonds cashews pistachios. Continue stir frying. The nuts wil give out aroma, the rice will start to shrink.
4. Add raisins and milk. Let it cook on medium heat stirring as most of the milk is absorbed. 5. Add sweet slurry. Stir. Cook till all the slurry is absorbed

Since I didn’t have raisins I used black currants . The kheeranand was heavenly
And my helps really loved it.

Leave a Reply

